Staff Spotlight: Rebekah Davis

This is an interview with Rebekah Davis, who currently serves as the Program Director in the North Georgia Regional office of the Alzheimer’s Association, Georgia Chapter.

Where did you grow up and where did you go to college?
I grew up in Adairsville, GA. I graduated valedictorian from Adairsville High School. I earned a BS in Business Administration from  Reinhardt College (University now) and a MBA from Berry College.

How long have you worked at the Alzheimer’s Association?
My three year anniversary with the Association will be October 1.

What was one of the most surprising things that you learned about Alzheimer’s after you started working here?
I was surprised to learn the fiscal impact Alzheimer’s and other types of dementia are having on our country. It was eye-opening to learn how dementia has and will affect our healthcare system, long term care facilities, emergency response personnel, churches, work places, and communities.

Why do you think that the work you do is important?
The work my colleagues and I do is important because we are here for caregivers and those with dementia at a time when they most need us. When we experience challenging times in our lives, it is helpful to have someone available to support us along the way. People with dementia and their caregivers know they have the Association to support them and advocate on behalf of them.

What is your favorite part of your job?
The part of my job I enjoy most is education. I feel strongly that education and knowledge are empowering. When I help caregivers learn, they are better equipped to provide the best care for their loved one and themselves.

What is your favorite quote from a family or individual that you have worked with while at the Association?                                                                                         Blessed are the flexible for they shall not be bent out of shape. (She didn’t make that up, but it’s a good one!)

Has working here impacted you in any particular way personally?                   Recently I’ve done some reading about the benefits of a healthy lifestyle with regards to Alzheimer’s and dementia. As a result, I am working to make some changes in my own life. I have taken up running again (which had to take a back seat the past year and a half). I am trying to be more mindful of my diet, especially sweets (for someone who loves cake, you can imagine how difficult this is!). I have learned and try to remind myself – I have to take small steps and they will result in big changes over time

Finally, one silly question – what is your favorite food?
Well, this one is a little embarrassing. My favorite food is cake. I like many different types of cakes, but my favorite is white cake with buttercream icing. As you can imagine, I love birthday parties!

 

Rebekah & family going purple for Alzheimer's Awareness month at a Rome Braves game!
Rebekah & family going purple for Alzheimer’s Awareness month at a Rome Braves game!
Leave a Reply

