Happy Volunteer Appreciation Week!

10580566055_82b0915cc5_h2013 Vol Appreciation-Mia Speaking to Group

Happy National Volunteer Appreciation Week! I would like to sincerely thank the Alzheimer’s Association, Georgia Chapter volunteers!

I’ve had the pleasure of serving as the Volunteer and Outreach Manager for Metro Atlanta for more than 5 years. During that time, I’ve met volunteers from all walks of life. Undeniably, my favorite part of my job is interviewing volunteers to get to know them better. Many volunteers come to us because of a family connection to the disease, but we also have a number of volunteers without a family connection, whom just feel compelled to support our cause. Each volunteer is unique. I’ve learned that everyone has a different reason for volunteering and I think it is important to take the time to hear what brought them to our organization. It is an indescribable feeling I get when I meet a new volunteer and his/her passion beams through.

As you might be able to tell from the photos above, I absolutely love our talented and passionate volunteers. I truly appreciate what each and every one of them contributes to the Association. Whether you serve as an Administrative volunteer, Speakers Bureau Representative, or Walk volunteer, we simply want you to know that we really appreciate your commitment. Without our volunteers, none of the work we do would be possible. Thank you.

The Alzheimer’s Association, Georgia Chapter is always in need of volunteers and there are many ways you can help. To learn more about volunteering with us, please visit http://www.alz.org/georgia/in_my_community_15009.asp .

Mia Chester, Volunteer and Outreach Manager

2014_2_27_alz_awareness_day-44

Leave a Reply

